2012 Etape du Tour Announced

Next year’s two Etapes du Tour have just been put up on their website. Here is what we are looking at:

Act OneSunday, July 8th. Albertville – La Toussuire-Les Sybelles (Stage 11 of next year’s TdF)

The stage is, as the French translation says, ‘dense’ with mountains; similar to Act 1 in 2011. It is a relatively short stage, at 140 km, but will cross 4 Alpine passes (GlandonMadeleine,Croix de FerMollard) before a mountain finish at the ski resort of La Toussuire-Les Sybelles.

 

This is a map I made up based on the towns the Etape site lists along the route. It is probably very close to reality, but there could be some errors.

Act Two: Saturday, July 14th. Pau – Bagnères de Luchon (Stage 16 of next year’s TdF)

*Registrations for both Act One and Act Two start on November 17th at noon. Be quick, they get gobbled up quickly!

This is just me, sitting comfortably at my desk talking right now, but I’m thinking about doing an Etape Double in 2012. Anyone like to join me?

For more on the Etape go to my now-annual page.

12 thoughts on “2012 Etape du Tour Announced

  1. I’m looking at Acte 1, and I find 140 km with over 4500m climbing is a good step up from this year.
    Doing the second one, just a week later, seems out of my league.

    • Did you find that altitude gain on their site or just a calculation? That was my next little project, so thanks for doing it for me! ‘Gulp’ is all I have to say, if that’s true. It’s positively ‘Marmotte-esque’.

  2. I hate it when a little thing like the Atlantic Ocean gets in the way of some good cycling fun. Either one looks good to me. Must be nice to participate in some epic events like these, especially when they’re in your back yard, so-to-speak. Enjoy the ride….Rob

  3. Surprise, I’m with Rob about the Atlantic. Go for the double! But not me joining, I’ll stick with lots of distance, lots of climbing, and lots of slow cycling. Suze

Leave a comment